Pico do Arieiro to Pico Ruivo, Madeira. Kodak Ektar Shot @ 200 – Rolleiflex T.

On my recent, winter trip to Madeira, we had the opportunity to head out on a multi-peak hiking route up to the summit of the island, the 1861m Pico Ruivo. Our route took us up and over the second highest peak – Pico Arieiro, and due to a couple of diversions, round a steeper route than usual; having us muster a total of 12.5km with 2,506m elevation gain. A good hike by my standards.

I took along the Rolleiflex, loaded with Kodak Ektar 100 which unfortunately, I shot at 200; the speed of the 35mm film I was also using in another camera whose ISO was set on my light meter. An easy mistake to make if not paying attention, (perhaps my old, school teachers had it right!). I also requested that the film be developed for ISO 200.

Anyhow, whilst I may have failed to capture the amazing weather up top, I think you can definitely get a sense of the volcanic nature of the island and these impressive peaks.

Enjoy.

Tunneling through the haze.

I can see the sea from here. Oh wait…
Really interesting volcanic structures.
Impressive.
Looking towards the Nun’s Valley
Summit portrait.
2 thoughts on “Pico do Arieiro to Pico Ruivo, Madeira. Kodak Ektar Shot @ 200 – Rolleiflex T.

    1. Thanks Joe! Indeed the landscapes do look pretty cool, though I was a little disappointed with the final portrait shot. There was a moment, in colour, up there that I would have liked to have captured.

      Like

Leave a Reply

